History of the Faculty


The Faculty was first established as the School of Engineering in 1993 following the upgrade of the then Kumasi Polytechnic into a tertiary institution. The name was in 2010 changed to Faculty of Engineering and further changed to Faculty of Engineering and Technology as recently as 2016. At the inception, the departments under the faculty were Electrical and Electronics Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Building Technology, and Furniture Design and Production. These departments had operated and offered non-tertiary diploma, technical and craft courses before 1993. When the institution was upgraded into a tertiary status, the curricula of these departments were also upgraded to offer tertiary courses-mostly Higher National Diploma (HND) courses. 

In 1996, the departments of Chemical Engineering and Civil Engineering were introduced into the University and naturally placed under the Faculty of Engineering, thus raising the number of departments under the Faculty to six (6).

In 2012, there was a restructuring of the internal organization of the University as a result of which the departments of Building Technology and Furniture Design and Production were taken from under the Faculty and made part of the newly created Faculty of Built and Natural Environment. This meant that only four (4) departments namely, Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical and Electronics, and Mechanical remained under the Faculty.

Until 2012, all the departments under the Faculty ran mostly Higher National Diploma (HND) programmes. The departments of Mechanical Engineering and the Electrical and Electronics ran some technical courses (various levels of MVT, MET and EET courses) in addition to the HND programmes. In 2012, the Department of Civil Engineering became the first Department under the Faculty to introduce a Bachelor of Technology (BTech) as a top-up programme. The Department of Chemical Engineering started a top-up BTech programme, in 2014. Currently, all the Departments in the Faculty except Mechanical Engineering run BTech as part of their programme offerings.

The first Dean of the Faculty was Col (Rtd) Osei Agyemang who served from 1993 until his retirement in 2002. Between September 2002 and September 2008 Ing. Prof. Osei-Wusu Achaw served as the Dean of the Faculty. Ing. Dr. Julius Bokloe followed suit as the Dean from 2008 till 2011. Dr. Anthony Osei Twumasi was the Dean from 2011 to 2013. He was followed by Ing. Prof. John Kwasi Afriyie who served from 2013 to 2015 and was succeeded by Engr. Prof. Mike Agbesi Acheampong, from 2015 to 2019. The present Dean of the faculty in its history has appointed first Female Dean in the person of Ing.Dr. (Mrs) Abena Agyeiwaa Obiri-Yeboah.