About the Faculty


The Faculty of Engineering and Technology (FET) offers unique opportunities for innovative education and research. FET is the best and largest Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET) Faculty of the University. Currently, the Faculty has four (4) departments, namely, Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Electrical/Electronic Engineering.

Plans are far advanced to introduce three new departments within the next two (2) year. The upcoming departments are Automotive and Agricultural Mechanization Engineering, Oil and Gas Engineering, and Renewable and Environmental Engineering.

Existing departments and programmes in the Faculty



Chemical Engineering

BTech Chemical Engineering (Top-up)

HND Chemical Engineering


Civil Engineering

BTech Civil Engineering (Top-up)

HND Civil Engineering


Electrical and Electronic Engineering

BTech Electrical/Electronic Engineering (Top-up)

HND Electrical/Electronic Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

HND Automotive Engineering

HND Metallurgy and Foundry Engineering

HND Plant Engineering

HND Production Engineering


To be a centre of excellence in training skilled technical manpower in engineering and technology in Africa.


Churning  out  employable   engineering   and   technical   graduates   who   are competent  in  their  fields  of  expertise  to  contribute  meaningfully  to  the country’s industrialization agenda for sustainable socio-economic growth and poverty alleviation.


  • The Faculty again received the best Faculty award for 2017/2018 Academic Year for being the Faculty with the highest terminal degree holders, highest research output and highest Student-Lecturer assessment scores.
  • The Faculty is leading the implementation of the mandate of the University and it is hosting the University’s niche programme, which is Renewable Energy/Environmental Engineering.
  • The Faculty is leading the implementation of the Partnership for Applied Sciences (PASS) project of the University.

Future Plans

The Faculty plans to:

  • Convert all programmes within the Faculty into Competence-Base Training (CBT) model.
  • Introduce new departments and programmes at the undergraduate and graduate levels (Table). The introduction of the proposed Departments and reorganization of the existing and new programmes is to ensure that the Faculty operates in accordance with the mandate conferred on the University by Act 922.


Proposed departments and programmes (undergraduate and graduate)




Mechanical Engineering**

BTech Plant Engineering



Awaiting accreditation


BTech Production Engineering

BTech Welding and Fabrication Engineering

Automotive and Agricultural Mechanization Engineering

BTech Automotive Engineering

Awaiting accreditation

BTech Heating, Ventilation and Air-Conditioning Engineering

BTech Agricultural Mechanization Engineering

Awaiting NCTE approval

Computer Engineering

BTech Computer Software Engineering

Development in progress

BTech Computer Hardware Engineering

Energy and Environmental Engineering

MTech Water and Environmental Engineering


MTech Renewable Energy Engineering

Developed for NCTE approval

BTech Sustainable Engineering

BTech Building Services Engineering

Oil and Gas Engineering

BTech Oil and Gas Engineering

Awaiting accreditation

BTech Petrochemical Engineering

Chemical Engineering**

BTech Chemical Engineering

Awaiting accreditation

MTech Chemical Engineering

DTech Chemical Engineering

Development in progress

Civil Engineering**

BTech Civil Engineering


BTech Surveying and Geoinformatis

Awaiting NCTE approval

MTech Highway Engineering

Development in progress


MTech Structural Engineering

DTech Civil Engineering

Electrical and Electronic Engineering**

BTech Electrical and Electronic Engineering

Awaiting accreditation

*Existing at the HND level

**Existing Departments